Friday Essay – Create

Image of the goals I've written down for 2016‘Create’ is on my list of themes for 2016.  And, I am going to do it!  I have made my list of things to create this year and it is pretty extensive.  And, it is in writing.  This is actually the first year I’ve put in writing all the art things I intend to do.  I’m really hoping this helps me accomplish stuff!  I don’t think I’ll be too upset if I get through 75% of my list, but I will be a bit disappointed if I only get through 50% of my list. I’m going to write stuff and make visual art and make great costumes and props and burlesque pieces and poems.  It’s going to be awesome!  But, it isn’t going to be unusual.  I believe people are made for creating. I believe its a human drive.  Why else would there be so much stuff made by people?  Not all of us are driven to create paintings or sculptures or dances or plays or poems.  Some of us are driven to create buildings or cars or bridges.  Some of us are driven to create knowledge or health or ritual.  I truly believe that a human with no outlet for creativity will wither.  None of us have to become famous composers or make a living with our acting or dancing, but we all need to create.  I truly believe that my fundamental well-being hinges on my creative output.  There were a few years when I wasn’t creating anything, for me those years were not great.  As soon as I started back to school, writing papers, doing research – creating – I started to feel better and better about myself.  I have written a book – a short thesis for a history degree – a contribution to the creation of knowledge.  I work with friends to create hilarious, uplifting burlesque shows.  While that may seem trivial, I hear from people all the time that the show or photos from the show transports them, brings a smile to their face.  This is important. I love to work with folks in my congregation to create meaningful services and rituals.  Like magic, from nothing we create an atmosphere and a ritual that feeds people’s souls.  And, the creating feeds our souls. I believe that most of what humans do is create.  I believe that we are our best selves when we are creating.  You could be creating a balance sheet, a healthier patient, a photo of your family, a dance with friends, a giant clown nose to put on the front of your car, but whatever you are creating it is making you, and (hopefully) someone else, better.  Which isn’t to say there isn’t a place for destruction, but that is a story for another time!

 

Be Lovely to Each Other,

Laura

