Friday Essay – If Today Were the Last Day of the World What Would You Do?

I found this question at lifehack.org.  This is probably the simplest of these meaning making questions for me so far.  I imagine that in this scenario the earth is meeting with some grand and horrible fate – a giant comet is crashing into the ocean, some idiot launched a million nuclear bombs, the sun is dying – not just that I’m going to die. Given only one day – not a week or six months like someone with a terminal illness – I would tell my friends and family how much I love them.  I would call those I didn’t have time to physically see. I would share intimate moments with my fella.  I would spend time with my family in town – my dad, step-mom and brother.  Then I would travel to see my daughter, her partner, my mom, my step-dad, my step-brother and his wife (good thing they all live in the same city).  That’s all.  What else would there be to do?  Why waste time trying to change the situation?  I would not be able to negotiate with the powers in charge of the destruction of the earth.  I would spend my last moments here with my loved ones.  I hope I would have the opportunity to feel the sun on my face, the wind in my hair, the earth beneath my barefeet and some running water through my fingers and toes.  (So, I hope the earth meets its final destruction on a nice summer day.)  I can’t think of anything else to be done given one last day on earth.  I have made my peace with death – it will come and I am sure the people I love know they are loved by me.  If I were told that I was going to die in a week or a month, I’d probably take some time to craft my own funeral proceedings, make sure my financials were in order and eat a lot of custard and ice cream.  But, still I am happy with the person I am and the life I am leading (for the most part) so that if I did die today all would be well.  We should all live as though we are dying because in the end that is exactly what is happening.  I hope that I am living my most authentic life because if today were the last day of the world I would not want to have any serious regrets.  I also hope today is not the last day of the world because I want to see New York and London before I die!

What would you do if today was the last day of the world?  Are you living a life you’re happy with?  Happy enough?

Be Lovely to Each Other,

Laura

