April Poem a Day Challenge – NaPoWriMo #22

I still haven’t found my three poems.  It is a little distressing.  However, I am still writing and though I won’t get to 30 poems this month, I’ve certainly written more in the last 28 days than in the previous … well, very many months.  This morning I watched Elizabeth Gilbert’s most recent TED Talk and this little thing came to mind.

Am I going home
or
coming home?
Whichever it is
I am
Home
to the place I love
more than myself
more than my ego
more than food
and drink
and shelter
and soft woolen sweaters
Home
Would I kill for it?
perhaps
Would I die for it?
probably
Home
is not a physical place
it is what I love
who I am
why I am
For some reason
the thing that
centres me
balances me
calms me
     while driving me a little crazy
Is
Art
     performance art
Dance
Drama
Spoken word
Song
If I can give it to you through my
body
then I am
Home
in this art
 

Be Lovely to Each Other,

Laura

