April Poem a Day Challenge – NaPoWriMo #17

Well, we had a long weekend here in Canada so I took a break from posting.  I didn’t take a break from writing though.  Here’s a poem I’ve been thinking about for nearly a year.  It isn’t quite what I’m wanting, but it’s getting closer.

My AcreI went to find the wild things
I followed Max across the sea
To a land with ferocious creatures
We had a wild rumpus
But soon came home
It was a bit too wild to stay forever

I went to find the wild things
I left the city
Drove to the mountains
Left my car and walked into the wilderness
Plants and animals grew wild, roamed free
Such beauty
It was a bit too wild for me

I went to find the wild things
I walked to the edge of my yard
Mushrooms and moss
Blue jays and sparrows
Rhubarb and raspberries I didn’t plant
It was all just wild enough for me

Be Lovely to Each Other,
Laura
