April Poem A Day Challenge – NaPoWriMo Poem #2

The prompt for yesterday’s poem was ‘Things I Know to Be True’, inspired by Sarah Kay’s poem to her future daughter at a TED Talk in 2011 (I’ve posted it below).  Here is my poem inspired by Danielle’s prompt.

This what I know 
for certain
Condoms only work if you take them off the nightstand
Earth provides me with everything I need
   food, shelter, clothing, oxygen, friends, family
I am nothing without my connections to people and communities that make me
  think and care and love
  and make me whole
Everyone should have the opportunity to live their most authentic life;
  we should be free of hunger and want and from oppression
Perfection is unattainable;
  everything and everyone is beautiful, already
  striving for perfection seems to make people
      anxious
      depressed
      and generally unhappy
Most of the best learning happens outside classroom walls
Humans are inherently creative;
   we should all be encouraged in that
When I see lightning I witness the awesome power of nature, when I see a homeless person I see injustice and the failure of governments;
  but not everyone sees what I see and I need to remember that others see and feel and believe and know things differently
I know that everything changes;
  I am not the same person today that I was yesterday
  In seven years I may find that I don’t actually know any of these things I think I know today (except the condom thing);
  Things are supposed to change
This is what I know today
 

Be Lovely to Each Other,

Laura

 

P.S. Danielle’s poem is here: http://thenightisneverblackinthecity.blogspot.ca/2014/04/napowrimo-day-2.html

 
2 thoughts on “April Poem A Day Challenge – NaPoWriMo Poem #2

  1. I know that I like this poem (and Daniell’s too). I know that I will probably never do this write a poem a day thing, but I hope I’m wrong about that.

    • Thanks, Brent. I already feeling behind! I have a number of other projects on the go and may not complete a poem a day – hopefully I’ll end up with more than 20 poems, though. I’m looking forward to hearing some more stuff from you soon!

Comments are closed.