Friday Essay – California Dreamin’

Newport Beach, CaliforniaI spent a week in California.  I hadn’t really set out to spend any time in California at all.  We had a very long winter last year (2012 – 2013) and I was determined to get some heat in before another long winter set in.  I booked a trip to Las Vegas in August and I looked around for a warm-place conference I could use my professional expense account for.  Lucky for me I found a relevant conference in Anaheim, California in October.  It was a good conference and I brought home a lot of good stuff for work. That was my real motivation for going to California.  California has never been a ‘bucket list’ destination for me.  My ‘bucket list’ destinations are: Pearl Harbour, Maui, Kauai, the UK, New England in the fall, the Maritimes, Quebec City, the Yukon, and the Northwest Territories.  So, I was looking forward to the conference and the weather but I wasn’t particularly excited about California.  And, then it happened.  My fella and I were riding rented bikes along the beach and I realized I was having the best day I’d had all year.  The sun was shining, the ocean was pounding, a cool breeze was blowing my hair and face … it was delightful.  Then we stopped at the edge of the world, I stood in the ocean and realized this was the place.  Somehow this was my place, the best place in the world for me.  Granted it was a gorgeous afternoon in October in California by the ocean, plenty of people from Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada would not want to go home.  Somehow what sitting in the sand looking out at the ocean did was solidify for me the fact that my job is not me and that I have to do something else with my life.  Not that I’m going to quit my job and become a transient on the beaches of southern California, but I feel like I have to work harder to make writing my job so that some day I can spend a good part of my year in southern California.  I’m not yet certain how that’s going to happen, but I’m a smart cookie so I’m sure I’ll figure it out.

Be Lovely to Each Other,

Laura

