Friday Essay – Trying Not To Be A Whiny Baby

Baby Making a FaceI am still not well.  I have very uncomfortable bouts of some kind of gastric something-or-other and it’s been going on for a month.  I am not certain what it is and neither are any of the physicians I have consulted.  I have had plenty of tests – X-rays, blood tests, pee-pee test, ultrasound – which have eliminated some things.  It is not likely that I have cancer of any kind.  It would appear that my internal organs are fine and working normally.  And, yet I am reduced to eating relatively bland, mushy food to reduce my abdominal pain and even that doesn’t always work.  I am awaiting a referral to a gastrointerologist and I expect there will soon be invasive, uncomfortable and, probably, embarrassing tests.  My favourite fella has been very sweet, understanding and helpful.  Though I’m sure I haven’t been much fun lately.  I am trying not to be a whiny baby.  Sure my tummy hurts most of the time, sometimes worse than other times, but that’s no excuse for not getting on with stuff that needs doing!  I’m not dying – well, of course we’re all dying, but you know what I mean.  I haven’t been diagnosed with some terminal disease, so I’ve got to stop my ‘belly-aching’ (so to speak) and get on with my life.  I know there are millions of people out there who have it much worse than I do.  So, even though I want to spend the rest of my life on my couch watching TV shows and movies while eating ice cream, I know I can’t!  I have to suck it up and get to work!  That doesn’t mean I can’t spend most of my weekends lying on the couch watching TV and eating ice cream!

I’m really hoping to get to the bottom of this yuckiness soon!  In the meantime, I’m going to do my best to keep writing, keep working and not whining too loudly.

Be Lovely to Each Other,

Laura

2 thoughts on “Friday Essay – Trying Not To Be A Whiny Baby

  1. Hi Laura. That doesn’t sound like much fun. I know my way around the medical system so if you’re having trouble navigating through that world or there are things you don’t understand or could use help with please let me know.

    • Thanks so much, Brent! I will definitely be in touch if I become really frustrated. For the moment I’m doing not too badly – I have to change my diet anyway, so this is a good excuse. Thanks for the support! I’ll certainly let you know if I need any help.

Comments are closed.