Poetry Wednesday – The Evolution of A Poem

Paper CranesOver the last year I have usually posted poems on Wednesdays.  Sometimes I’ve posted my own poems and sometimes they’ve been other poets’ work.  I’ve decided to try something different – so do let me know if you enjoy this.  I’m seriously working on a poem about Sadako Sasaki and the bombing of Hiroshima on August 6, 1945.  I wrote a poem about Sadako and her thousand paper cranes last year, that turned into three haikus about The Bomb.  I’m still not satisfied that I’ve told the story I want to tell, so I’m doing more reading and thinking some more and writing some more.  Over the next few weeks I’m going to post my various versions of my poem about Sadako and the bombing of Hiroshima.  Hopefully, you’ll give me valuable feedback and I’ll be able to write the best poem I can write.  Today I’m going to re-post the original poem about Sadako that I wrote last year.  Any and all feedback is welcome.  Thanks!

 

A Thousand Paper Cranes

I saw folded paper, origami, cranes in someone’s window.

I must have read ‘Sadako and the Thousand Paper Cranes’ about that many times when I was a kid.

Sadako was tragic and brave.

Everything about the story was tragic and brave.

We were all terrified of the The Bomb then, had been for nearly forty years.

My parents were terrified.

Their parents were terrified.

A few years later I met a survivor of the bombing of Hiroshima.

She was the oldest and tiniest lady I’d ever met.

She had the softest hand, that’s all I remember really.

I went to a protest rally when I was twelve.

We protested the testing of cruise missiles in northern Alberta and Saskatchewan.

I met the leader of the New Democratic Party.

I was still terrified of The Bomb.

One thought on “Poetry Wednesday – The Evolution of A Poem

Comments are closed.