Friday Essay – Habits

Saskatoon Winter NightWow! Take one vacation and I completely lose my writing habit.  I am very late posting this and I haven’t written any new poems or anything this week.  I have been feeling  a bit out of sorts, but habits and routines make me feel better.  I am one of those people.  I am really not particularly spontaneous, at least not for big things.  I wouldn’t just fly to Vegas for a weekend or pack up and move across country to a new place where I had no job or family or friends or anything.  That does not sound like an adventure to me, that sounds like a serious anxiety attack waiting to happen!  Which doesn’t mean I don’t like to go with the flow sometimes – as long as the important things are in place I can make little decisions on the fly. However, I feel grounded and secure when I know what to expect.  Like this evening – I made some plans in my mind this morning and now I am going to execute them.  If the movie I am planning to watch doesn’t work for some reason and I am unable to watch it I will feel very out of sorts for the rest of the evening.  That’s just how I am.  So, I will be much more diligent about posting this blog next week.  And, now I am off to get movie snacks, watch a movie, then choose the poems I’m going to slam on Sunday.  If any of those things don’t work out right I will be a very grumpy lady for the rest of the evening!

Be Lovely to Each Other,

Laura

