Friday Essay – Family

A funny family Christmas at my place

A funny family Christmas at my place

I love my family. I am very lucky.  Many people are estranged from family, have never met their family, have lost family, dislike their family …  I love my family.  They are interesting, funny, inspiring humans who make me crazy and keep me sane at the same time!  This week I am on holiday in Manitoba with my brother visiting family.  My mom and step dad live here.  My daughter lives with them.  My mom’s brother and sister-in-law came up from Ontario. I’m heading to Winnipeg with my mom and daughter (for my daughter’s orthodonist) and we’ll have breakfast with my step brother and his girlfriend (who I haven’t met yet).  It’s been a good week!  And, on Wednesday I got to spend some time with my ancestors.  My uncle sent many boxes of photographs to my mom a while ago and we finally went through them – some of them – on Wednesday.  I saw pictures of my grandparents, great-aunts and uncles, cousins, great-grandparents, my mom and uncle, family pets … and heard stories.  That was my favourite part, the stories.  A photo of my grandmother lying on a beach in 1946 prompted a story about how my grandparents met.  A photo of my mom and uncle on the first day of school in 1967 prompted a story about the shoes and bag she had.  I saw photos I’d never seen before and heard new stories.  It was a lovely day.

I’m still on holiday, so this will be a short entry.  I hope you have family to spend time with – blood relations or family you’ve created, makes no difference.

Be Lovely to Each Other,

Laura

