Poetry Wednesday – This Is A Photograph Of Me by Margaret Atwood

Upper Kananaskis LakeIt was taken some time ago.
At first it seems to be
a smeared
print: blurred lines and grey flecks
blended with the paper;then, as you scan
it, you see in the left-hand corner
a thing that is like a branch: part of a tree
(balsam or spruce) emerging
and, to the right, halfway up
what ought to be a gentle
slope, a small frame house.In the background there is a lake,
and beyond that, some low hills.(The photograph was taken
the day after I drowned.

I am in the lake, in the center
of the picture, just under the surface.

It is difficult to say where
precisely, or to say
how large or small I am:
the effect of water
on light is a distortion

but if you look long enough,
eventually
you will be able to see me.)

 

From The Circle Game by Margaret Atwood. Copyright © 1998

5 thoughts on “Poetry Wednesday – This Is A Photograph Of Me by Margaret Atwood

  1. I love this! Very creative! Reading blogs about blogging because I am new at this and trying to learn, I have read that photos should not be posted with words…that is just an opinion that some people have. I really like pairing my poems with photos and always credit the source. It is a hobby of mine like pairing wine with food. I think what you have done here with your words and the photo is simply marvelous.

    • Thanks. I must admit that I did not do a very good job of citing this work – this is a poem by the amazing Canadian writer (poet, novelist, essayist, etc.) Margaret Atwood. It is from The Circle Game by Margaret Atwood; copyright © 1998. I always use a photo or picture with my blog posts – I didn’t know you weren’t supposed to! I am a very visual person and dislike websites and blogs that have only text. I do my best to cite them or at least link to the site whence it is derived.

      • I feel the same way being a very “Visual” person. I don’t know what the deal is. I was on a site called Harsh Reality, by Opinionated Man. He has like 200,000 views and 14,500 followers. He was giving tips to get followers, and made that comment. Then I have seen others talking about the same. I don’t really even understand the whole “followers” thing yet. Sure, I would like to increase my audience…who wouldn’t? But I don’t get the whole follow me and I’ll follow you, with any sincerity. Most of his followers never even read his posts, he comments to 100 per day and responds to all comments, even if only with a smiley face. I get that. But it seems to me that I would rather have quality followers who were actually going to read my posts and comment with sincerity, be engaged with me, that to have 14,200 who didn’t. I am still learning. Thanks for the update about the poet and thanks for sharing. It moved me.

        • I agree – I really started this blog as a writing exercise. It gets me writing an essay once a week and reading and writing more poetry. I’m not really concerned about how many people follow me. I also prefer it when someone sends me a thoughtful comment. I don’t need a million followers who don’t actually read what I write. Thanks so much for your feedback. Have a great time with your blog!

Comments are closed.