Friday Essay – Camp NaNoWriMo Final Update

Camp NaNoWriMo 2013 ParticipantWell, Tuesday was my last day at Camp NaNoWriMo and I did not win.  In fact, I did not even post my final word count.  I’m not sorry that I embarked on this journey a third time, however, I am now planning to spend some time contemplating the reasons why I don’t finish my NaNo projects.  Is it because I am not truly invested in the story, the characters?  Is it because I am not truly invested in the novel generally?  Should I spend more time writing poetry?  Should I write more short stories?  Maybe I need to actually plan the whole novel in minute detail before I start writing?  Maybe I just need to develop my 850-words per day habit and then turn it into my NaNo writing when NaNo time comes around again?  Perhaps I need to be a better cheater?  I’m such a stickler for the rules – new novel each time, meet the appropriate writing goals each time. Bah!  Now I’m thinking of planning to write one novel over three NaNo monthly sessions in the year. Hmmm … keep working on the same novel in August, then again in November?  Maybe with some extra pieces written in other months.  I’m a very bad cheater, but I might do it just to get a complete novel written this year.  In any event, I’m always glad I participate in NaNo and some day I will actually finish.  I might even win fair and square one day.

I hope everyone who was participating in Camp NaNoWriMo last month had a good time.   I hope many of you won.  I hope many of you learned more about yourself and your craft.  Most of all, I hope you all wrote!  Isn’t that what it’s all about?  You have a story, tell it!  The world needs more stories!

Be Lovely to Each Other,

Laura

2 thoughts on “Friday Essay – Camp NaNoWriMo Final Update

Comments are closed.