Friday Essay – Camp NaNoWriMo Update #3

Camp NaNoWriMo 2013 ParticipantOh life … why do you always get in the way of my NaNoWriMo intentions?  Well, she just does.  And, there’s nothing wrong with my life.  I had a birthday road trip.  Then a birthday party – and I’ll have another on Sunday.  Then a friend asked me to perform a piece with him in his show this weekend.  Then I learned that by a complete fluke of fortune I have qualified for semi-finals in the local poetry slam.  And, I have a costume to finish for a dance show on Sunday.  So, lots of good things are happening, they just happen to be taking me away from Camp NaNoWriMo.  So, I will keep writing – I’ve been averaging a few words a day – and something will come of this project.  In the meantime, I am not going to get too upset about not meeting my Camp NaNoWriMo goal (again), because I have written something every day.  I tweeted a lot on my road trip.  I’ve put some poems to paper.  I have been doing something artistic every day this month even though my focus hasn’t been NaNo writing.  I am looking forward to the end of next month – that is when the bulk of my pressing commitments will be complete.  I will keep writing – it’s what I do.  I’m even contemplating a Monday blog post twice a month – I’m thinking of calling it Magic Mondays and it will be full of all the crazy wonderful lovely things I have discovered in the previous two weeks.  It could be a review of a children’s book.  It could be an essay about  art and love and life.  I don’t know if I’m ready for that commitment just yet though.  I think I’m going to take the summer off – I’ve already got an awesome week in Las Vegas planned with my favourite fella!  I’ll see what the fall holds.  In the meantime, I will continue plugging at this NaNoWriMo project until Tuesday!

Be Lovely to Each Other,

Laura

3 thoughts on “Friday Essay – Camp NaNoWriMo Update #3

    • Thank you so much for the nomination – how exciting! I did not win Camp NaNoWriMo this time, but did have a lovely month. Every time I do NaNo I learn something new about myself and my writing!

Comments are closed.