Friday Essay – Camp NaNoWriMo Update #2

Camp NaNoWriMo 2013 ParticipantSo, I’m in Winnipeg today.  It’s my birthday next week and my mom bought me tickets to the opera – we’re seeing Aida this evening!!  And, next weekend I am performing a piece with my wonderful friend Ryan in his show, Wings & Tales: The Poetry of Supernatural Beings.  And, my burlesque club is preparing for our spring show, VaVa Vaudeville and Speakeasy at the Pink Canoe in May, so we’ll be giving a little performance at the end of the month for International Dance Day.  I’m working on a Coming of Age program for some young women in my congregation which will take some time, but be awesome!  Of course, I go to a paying job for seven and half hours a day, most days. My Sundays are rarely complete unless I spend the evening at the spoken word poetry at my local pub.  And, I’m committed to slamming over the next few weeks, if only for the experience.  I spend time with my favourite fella, my family, my friends, my dog …  I have a life that is completely full of wonderful stuff.  And, writing.  This month I have found that sometimes I have forced myself to sit and write like it’s some kind of horrendous chore or as though it is taking me away from something ‘more important’.  I have also snuck off to the Starbucks in the Learning Commons/library – I love working for a university – to write for fifteen or thirty minutes in the middle of my day.  I have become frustrated with a section of story that seems to be floundering, then sat down for ten minutes to work through the plot and come to a nice simple solution to the floundering plot.  I have come to the conclusion that I love this writing fiction thing.  I don’t know if I’m telling my own stories through the fiction or if I’m just exercising my imagination, but I love it.  I am having a wonderful time with this Camp NaNoWriMo.  I am beginning to think about ways to stretch myself in my writing (paranormal romance anyone?) and perhaps try to get published.  I’m not going to quit my day job, I like to eat too much for that!  The more I write the more I enjoy it and the more I enjoy it the more I want to write.  So, I’ll just keep doing what I like to do and hopefully others will like it, too!

Be Lovely to Each Other,

Laura

