Friday Essay – Camp NaNoWriMo Update #1

Camp NaNoWriMo 2013 ParticipantSo, here we are at the end of another week of Camp NaNoWriMo.  I did not meet my allotted goal.  I have not been feeling well.  I was ill with a head and chest cold.  I have a number of commitments that seem to be making me anxious for some reason.  And, the weather is so depressing! So, I have not written as much as I would have liked.  However, I have written something for my novel every day.  I have not typed it all up yet, but … One day I think I only wrote about a hundred words.  But, I will not be defeated!  I have written every day and that is a big part of the battle.  The stories are moving along; my main character is developing nicely; I have discovered some new characters and allies and, possibly, a very good nemesis.  I am having the most fun NaNo experience with this story, well set of stories.  I hope everyone else doing Camp NaNoWriMo this month is having fun and meeting some goals.  I have discovered that the daily word count is not the only goal I have for this experience.  I am discovering the art of editing and rewriting while typing.  I write all my first drafts longhand with a pen on a piece of paper – old school!  I am also discovering the art of doing research on the fly while rewriting while typing – I love the interwebs!!   I may not ‘win’ this NaNo but I am definitely ‘winning’ at writing!  I am looking forward to finding out what happens when I sit down to write my NaNo novel today!  Yay!

Be Lovely To Each Other,

Laura

