Friday Essay – Camp NaNoWriMo (Yep, once more around!)

Camp NaNoWriMo 2013 Participant

I am doing NaNoWriMo again!  At this point it seems like I must be some kind of masochist.  The last two times I’ve done this I came nowhere near the 50,000 word mark.  In fact, when I went to Camp NaNoWriMo last August I made it to 17,000 after two weeks, then got some sort of horrendous throat infection and couldn’t go on.  So, here I am embarking on another Camp NaNoWriMo, but this one is different.  This time I can choose my goal – I think 30,000 words is a nice goal; not too much, not too little.  My original idea was to take ten stories from the 1937 Star-Phoenix (my local newspaper) and write 3,000 word short stories from them.  I first thought I might write the back story or the where-are-they-now story.  I am a trained historian, I thought I might try my hand at some creative non-fiction.  When I wrote my synopsis at the Camp NaNoWriMo website it was supposed to say this:

Based on true stories from the 1937 editions of the Saskatoon Star-Phoenix, ten stories will elucidate and illuminate life in a small prairie city during the Great Depression.

However, at the last second my mind directed my hands to add:

Though there might be zombies, possibly river monsters and a chance of a creepy circus.

None of this was officially sanctioned by me!  I was a little concerned that my subconscious was writing cheques my conscious couldn’t cash, so to speak.  Then I took a look at the microfilm and found this headline in the January 14, 1937 Star-Phoenix:

Three Dead in Family – Goats Absolved

I think this is going to work out just fine!

Be Lovely to Each Other,

Laura

One thought on “Friday Essay – Camp NaNoWriMo (Yep, once more around!)

Comments are closed.