Poetry Wednesday – I Have Made My Peace with Death

Neutron StarI have made my peace with death
I am not afraid
There is no God
There is no Heaven
There is no Hell
There is only this
This life
This Earth
This sky
This universe
These stars

When I lay on my back
In the grass
In the middle of nowhere
And stare into the night sky
I am swallowed whole by the vastness of all the
Everything that is

When I lay on my back
          In the grass
In the middle of nowhere
And stare into the night sky
I fall up
I fall up into the sea of stars
I fall up and fill the space between the stars

I have made my peace with death
I am not afraid
I am these stars
This universe
This sky
This earth
This life

When I lay on my back
In the grass
In the middle of nowhere
And stare into the night sky
It falls down
It falls down stars come pouring from the sky
And fill the empty spaces in me

When I lay on my back
The last breath gone from this body
I will fall up and fill the space between the stars
The stars will pour down and fill the spaces in me

One thought on “Poetry Wednesday – I Have Made My Peace with Death

Comments are closed.