Friday Essay – The Cult of Done Manifesto

I like Wil Wheaton.  He is a famous guy who seems like a regular guy I could totally play games and drink beer with, maybe watch a hockey game.  Anyway, sometime ago he posted this to his blog

The Cult of Done Manifesto

This manifesto was created by Bre Pettis who, apparently, makes things.  The manifesto was first posted to his blog in 2009 and the lovely poster-style manifesto was created by Joshua Rothaas (I don’t know who that is, but thought he ought to get credit).  In any event, I have this little poster on the door of one the cabinets in my office.  I don’t always follow it, but I think it’s a good list to keep on hand.  It pushes me to get through stuff that I might not be really excited about.  It also reminds me that I have to push through the tough stuff – especially those moments of writer’s block – to get to the good stuff.  So, if you can’t read them all in that poster here are the thirteen elements of The Cult of Done Manifesto:

  1. There are three states of being. Not knowing, action and completion.
  2. Accept that everything is a draft. It helps to get it done.
  3. There is no editing stage.
  4. Pretending you know what you’re doing is almost the same as knowing what you are doing, so just accept that you know what you’re doing even if you don’t and do it.
  5. Banish procrastination. If you wait more than a week to get an idea done, abandon it.
  6. The point of being done is not to finish but to get other things done.
  7. Once you’re done you can throw it away.
  8. Laugh at perfection. It’s boring and keeps you from being done.
  9. People without dirty hands are wrong. Doing something makes you right.
  10. Failure counts as done. So do mistakes.
  11. Destruction is a variant of done.
  12. If you have an idea and publish it on the internet, that counts as a ghost of done.
  13. Done is the engine of more.

I’m planning to head to Camp NaNoWriMo in April – third time’s the charm, right? – so I’m going to print another copy (or seven) and post it in my office (which I am going to clean up so I can actually write in there!).

I think that this is good stuff to keep in mind.  I use it for work and when I’m writing – I’m sure it would be great for lots of other projects!

Be Lovely to Each Other,

Laura

 

