Friday Essay – Poem-A-Day Challenge, Part I

Poetry in HandsFor some reason I have decided to write one poem every day for the month of January.  I’m not sure what possessed me to do such a thing, but it has been pretty darned fun.  I’m about half-way through and so far I have written one complete poem every day.  Some days the poems have been total crap.  Some days I’ve written four crappy poems and one mediocre poem.  Some days I’ve written one poem with which I was completely satisfied.  So far I’ve liked Look Into The Sky  and Before The Internet as soon as they came out of my mind and onto the page.  Though I have to admit the one I like best so far I wrote earlier this week.  I had the crappiest day!  I felt awful – crampy, nauseated, weepy, melancholy, lonely, blah, blah, blah.  I crawled into bed, turned off the light then remembered I had to write a poem!  I thought, “Bah, screw it, I feel shitty! Screw the poem!”  Then, I thought, “Just do it.  Write a terrible poem and go to bed.”  So, this is what I wrote:

My back is sore
My belly aches
I’m a weepy melancholy mess
Who was the fucking genius who invented
PMS?

 

Ha!  I thought that was pretty funny.  It actually put me in a pretty darned good mood.  I slept well.  Once again proving to me the healing power of poetry!  I’m not exactly Elizabeth Barrett Browning or Margaret Atwood, but perhaps Dorothy Parker might have appreciated it.

I am looking forward to the next couple of weeks of poetry writing.  I hope I get some good stuff on paper.  I also have a bunch of stuff that looks like garbage now, but I think might have a nice turn of phrase in it or maybe a line that paints the perfect picture.  I’ll work on those next month.

Be Lovely To Each Other,

Laura

