Friday Essay – Winter Solstice

Winter SolsticeSleep. Love. Write. Think. Be Still.

The Winter Solstice is one of my favourite times of year.  I love the dark and the time to be inside and quite and thoughtful.  I don’t rush around like a crazy person getting ready for Christmas.  I don’t bake seven hundred and fifty dozen cookies.  I’ve stopped my Yule open house.  And,  I’m very lucky to have a job that gives me all teh days between Christmas and New Year’s as free days. Once the Solstice has arrived I have ten relaxing days to be with family and friends.  If I don’t have a ritual to attend on or around the Solstice I usually do something small but meaningful to mark it at home.  This year I’m going to have to clean out and refill the bird feeders.  These winter days are a time when I don’t look at the clock.  I eat when I want.  Sleep when I want.  Read when I want.  Watch sappy holiday movies. Hang out with family. And, play cut-throat games of Trivial Pursuit when others will play with me. I look forward to writing poems and perhaps working on some short stories.  I am hoping to spend an entire day with my daughter this year.  I am also looking forward to a weekend in a couch fort with someone I love.  For me this is what Solstice and the close of the year are all about. I hope you enjoy a lovely mid-winter holiday.  Sleep. Love. Write. Think. Be Still.

Cheers,

Laura

