Poetry Wednesday – Choose

Choose
Mary or Magdalene
Choose
Virgin or Whore
I refuse
To choose
My value does not increase with all the sex I don’t have
My value does not increase with the number of appropriately conceived children I produce
 
Choose
Mary or Magdalene
Choose
Virgin or Whore
I refuse
To choose
My value does not decrease each time I share my body with a man
My value does not decrease every time I feel pleasure, enjoy my body, enjoy someone else’s
 
Choose
Mary or Magdalene
Choose
Virgin or Whore
I refuse
To choose
I can be that woman who will marry you as our parents look on, misty-eyed
I can be that woman who will have anonymous sex with you, lose her panties, and walk home
 
Choose
Mary or Magdalene
Choose
Virgin or Whore
I refuse
To choose
I am all of these women
I am each of these women
I am Mary and Magdalene
I am the Virgin Whore
