Poetry Wednesday – Garbage Delight by Dennis Lee

Garbage Delight cover illustration by Frank NewfeldNow I’m not the one
To say No to a bun
And always can manage some jelly
If somebody gurgles
Please eat my hamburgles
I try to make room in my belly.
I seem if they scream
Not to gag on ice cream
And with fudge I can choke down my fright
But none is enticing
Or even worth slicing
Compared with Garbage Delight.
With a nip and a nibble
A drip and a dribble
A dollop; a walloping bite;
If you want to see grins
All the way to my shins
Then give me some Garbage Delight.
I’m handy with candy
I star with a bar
And I’m known for my butterscotch burp
I can stare in the eyes
Of a Toffee Surprise
And polish it off with one slurp.
My lick is the longest,
My chomp is the champ
And everyone envies my bite;
But my talents were wasted
Until I had tasted
The wonders of Garbage Delight.
With a nip and a nibble,
A drip and a dribble,
A dollop; a walloping bite;
If you want to see grins
All the way to my shins,
Then give me some Garbage Delight,
Right now!
Please pass me the Garbage Delight.
~ Dennis Lee   from “Garbage Delight” 1977

