Friday’s Essay – Poetry Slam

Poetry in HandsI slammed my first poem a few weeks ago!  Awesome!  I was expecting one friend in the audience, then discovered there would be five.  Whatever.  I went on when the MC called by name.  I was not nervous.  The audience was lovely.  I delivered it nearly perfectly.  I got a very acceptable score from the judges.  I did not get a time violation – which would be really difficult with my poems, they’re so short I can’t imagine ever taking 3 minutes and 10 seconds to deliver one.  Lots of people told me how much they liked my poem.  One woman even said it made her look forward to having a baby.  It just doesn’t get better than that!  And, the fellow who keeps winning the slams came up to me and said how much he really liked my poem.  It was good poetry.  I was in awe.  Then again, the spoken word community in Saskatoon is amazing.  I’ve heard it over and over from the featured poets who come to present on Sunday nights.  The folks who go to Tonight It’s Poetry make up such a supportive and warm community.  I’m really looking forward to delivering another poem at a community stage night and in another slam.  And, the Canadian Festival of Spoken Word is in Saskatoon in October this year.  It’s going to totally rock!  I’m volunteering so I’ll get to hang out at the presentations and what not for free! Hooray!  And, I’ll get to meet awesome poets from all across the country.  I am so looking forward to it.  I love poetry.  I love spoken word.  I love this community.  I love all the crazy awesome ideas and words that come into my head and turn into poems.  If you get the chance to go to a poetry slam or spoken word open mic night or whatever like that in your city – go, do it!   You will not regret it.  You will be moved.  You will be shocked.  You will laugh.  You will think about things differently.  Art is amazing.  Right now my favourite art is spoken word poetry.

Cheers,

Laura

One thought on “Friday’s Essay – Poetry Slam

Comments are closed.