Friday’s Essay – Camp NaNoWriMo Week 5

Camp NaNoWriMo Participant BadgeWell, I definitely did not ‘win’ NaNoWriMo, in that I did not write 50,000 words of a novel this month.  But, no matter, I wrote just over 16,000 words which is more than I’ve ever written of a work of fiction in a very long time. I’ve also done a lot of good reading for this novel and I’ll continue to glean good stuff for this work from the English class I’m taking in the fall.  I have done a tonne of research for this both by reading good stuff and poking around in the internets. And, I’ve found a manageable daily writing commitment – 850 words – that should keep me on track to finishing this novel in another month or so.  Of course, I started writing something else with a friend this month.  She had an idea and after a bottle of wine I wrote the beginning of her idea.  I’m looking forward to this.  Though writing a paragraph at a time may be a slow way to write a novel.  In any event, I have committed to writing 850 words a day for the foreseeable future.  I also have two novels to work on.  It would be perfect if I didn’t have to go to work in order to pay my bills.  Of course, if this all goes according to plan I will be a novelist who is paid to write novels and travel around the world doing research for her novels!!  I know, I know … one paragraph at a time!  I have to actually sit down and write the novels.  But it seems manageable now that I think about 850 words a day every day instead of 1700 words a day for 30 days.  I will have news about my writing in a few weeks.  I think next week’s essay will be about poetry again.  I’m still in love with it and may have to add a few words onto the 850 a day to accommodate writing poetry.  Whatever happens I think I can safely call myself a writer.

Cheers,

Laura

