Friday’s Essay – Camp NaNoWriMo Week 4

Camp NaNoWriMo Participant BadgeI have decided that I love the idea of National Novel Writing Month.  Writing is something I find fundamental to my being.  I write for fun, I write for work, I write short stories, I write poetry, I write briefing notes, I write essays. I even wrote a whole book once – technically it was my Master’s thesis, but still, it was ninety-eight pages of non-fiction I wrote pretty much on my own.  I love that NaNoWriMo exists to encourage people to write.  The organization runs a Young Writing Program that brings novel and script writing to middle and high schools.  I’ve donated money to the Office of Letters and Light (that runs NaNoWriMo and the other programs) because I really believe in this.  However, I have found the actual exercise of attempting to write 50,000 words in 30 or 31 days to be a lot like actual exercise.  Day One I’m all excited and push myself through my program – 7 notebook pages written, about 1650 words – and its awesome!  Day Two I probably get through 1500 or 1550 words!  Day Twelve I’m tired and cranky and just want to go to bed instead of write even 500 words!  Then earlier this week I read somewhere that if one commits to writing 500 words a day you could have a 75,000 word novel in about five months.  Now, I’m not really good at math, but with the help of a friend, I figured out that if I commit to writing half of what I’d write for NaNoWriMo every day – just 850 words instead of 1700 – then I could write a 50,000 word novel in about two months.  That 75,000 word novel would only take another month or so.  Three months is not a long time and 850 words really isn’t too much – I usually write these little 300 word blog posts in less than an hour, depending on how inspired I am!  So, in a year I could write four novels and all I’d have to do would be put 850 words on paper every day.  Now I’m totally inspired to write again!  The likelihood of me ‘winning’ NaNoWriMo is slim, but the likelihood of me winning in my writing is pretty damn good!  Go me!

Cheers,

Laura

2 thoughts on “Friday’s Essay – Camp NaNoWriMo Week 4

  1. I just validated my Camp NaNo experience at 52,081 words. I’m figuring that probably half of that is going to get cut in editing. I kind of wrote myself into a corner and will have to scrap that whole middle section and re-do it. But that’s for November and I’ll try it again. Good luck and keep writing!

    • Congratulations! I’m in complete awe of your 52,081 words! I feel a little sad that you anticipate cutting and re-working so much. But, that’s definitely how it goes! I’ll just keep writing and eventually I’ll get there! Thanks for the encouragement.

Comments are closed.