Friday’s Essay – Camp NaNoWriMo Week 3

Camp NaNoWriMo Participant BadgeThis week was a total bust in terms of picking up my word count.  I got really sick and just didn’t have the energy to write much.  I also go completely stumped … okay, writer’s block.  I just got to a point in the story and didn’t know where to go.  Nothing magical was coming to me, so I just stopped.  Well, I didn’t give up on the story.  I decided to type it up.  Yes, I write long hand.  I know it is a very inefficient way to write in this new fangled world of word processing computer programs.  But, I find it really difficult to be creative with a keyboard and screen.  There is something about the action of putting pen to paper that gets my juices flowing.  In any event, I have kind of cheated in that I’ve taken time to go through what I’ve already written.  I didn’t revise any of it, just put it in my computer, honest!  I’m finding some good bits that I feel I can build on later in the story, which makes me happy.  I’m pretty sure I have more story to tell.  I’m also finding that what I have written so far isn’t complete garbage, though some of it will have to go if I get around to revising the story.  And, I’m pretty proud of myself for having actually written just over fifteen thousand words.  I think that’ll come out to just over thirty pages.  I have never written a work of fiction this long and it is definitely not over.  I probably won’t make it to fifty thousand words by the end of August, but if I make to thirty- or forty thousand I will be totally gobsmacked!  I am enjoying the story and the process of writing.  Hopefully, I’ll make the fifty thousand mark, but even if I don’t I’ll be a winner simply because I spent a month writing something creative.

Cheers,

Laura