Friday’s Essay – Camp NanNoWriMo Week 2

Camp NaNoWriMo Participant BadgeWell, this is going much better than it did in November.  I will likely hit the 15,000 word mark by the end of the week.  The story seems to be hanging together.  Interesting characters are popping up in the story.  Interesting plot lines just seem to be ready to be written when I sit down with my notebook.  I think this is working better for all the reasons I was told it would work better this time.  I am not writing a story I am particularly invested in.  I have not made a detailed outline that I am determined to follow – I’m letting the story come to me. The story may get a little weird and there may be bits that don’t quite work.  Also, I’m on holiday this week and have been able to take some extra time during the day to write.  I’m hoping to get ahead of the word count by the end of the end of the week in case I fall down later.  It is, so far, a good way for me to get moving on this story.  I am hoping to ‘win’ NaNoWriMo this time – that is, I hope to reach 50,000 words by the end of August. If it turns out to not be a complete pile of poo I may have a copy-editor friend take a look at it and have some twelve and thirteen year olds read it.  Of course, it may turn out to be an enormous turd that stinks up my hard drive forever.

However, so far this is turning into a very good exercise.  I have never written so many pages of one coherent story before.  If nothing else, I hope to be able to say that I wrote a novel in a month.  It doesn’t have to be a particularly good novel – it’s the writing of it that counts!

Cheers,

Laura

 

