Poetry Wednesday – Clear Blue Sky Homesickness

Saskatoon Winter Sky

Saskatoon Winter Sky

The sky’s blue changes

as I look from the horizon

well, as close to the horizon as I can see through the buildings downtown

to overhead.

Palest blue with a golden hint

light grey blue

finally a bright clear eye-watering blue.

The sky overhead is full of pale white ghosts

of clouds

barely visible.

It makes me homesick.

Homesick for where?

I wonder.

The arctic?

Where the pale winter morning sky doesn’t light until ten?

The west coast?

Where a blue winter morning sky is like a miracle?

Hawai’i?

Where the morning sky and vast Pacific ocean seem to be one?

Could I be homesick for a time and not a place?

Could this morning’s

Saskatoon

winter sky simply remind me of times past?

