Poetry Wednesday – Space for Two by Ryan J. Bradshaw

Fire Heart Love Space for Two

I am only one person, with one body, its true

But what I want you to know is that I have space for two

And I would love nothing more than to share it with you

There’s space just for you in my ears and my eyes

I want to hear your life stories, your laughter, your sighs

I want to see you each day when the sun starts to rise

There’s space just for you inside of my mouth

For your taste, for your tongue the goodies down south

(Y’know, my mouth can do things that you can’t do yourself)

More important, there’s space just for you in my mind

When I’m lost in thought, it’s always you I find and then I find myself suddenly speaking in rhyme (funny that)

There’s space for you in my hand as we wander through town

There’s space for you in my arms when this life makes you frown

And there’s space for you  in my lap if you’d like to sit down.

Hell, there’s space just for you inside my back door

Enough for a finger and possibly more

With you, there is little I wouldn’t explore

Most important, there space just for you in my heart

I think that space has been yours to fill from the start

You have mended what others had broken apart

I am only one person, with one body, it’s true

But there’s space in my life, and in my future, for two

And, I would love nothing more than to share it with you

And, though I am frightened to know what your answer will be

I just need to ask … do you have space for me?

~ Ryan J. Bradshaw   2010

