Book Review – “168 Hours: You Have More Time Than You Think” by Laura Vanderkam

168 Hours by Laura Vanderkam

168 Hours by Laura Vanderkam

Feeling stressed and pulled in a million directions? You probably have more time than you think. A week is made up of 168 hours, as Vanderkam reminds us, which is quite a lot really. After reading this book and completing some of the exercises in it, I’ve started to make some changes in my priorities. I probably won’t be outsourcing my laundry anytime soon – though, feel free to do it if it gives you more time to play music, hang out with your kids, or write that novel! However, I have a better sense of how I spend my time and what I really want to do with my time.

It’s well crafted book – well researched, well written, well organized. I will probably go through a number of the exercises again. I’ve only reached about 62 in my ‘100 Dreams List’, so there’s plenty to keep me occupied! There is some emphasis on parents with young children. Considering that Vanderkam is a parent of young children it shouldn’t be surprising. Also, parents of young children seem to be most in need of the message in this book – there is time to do all the things you want to do, figure out what they are and drop as much of the crap as possible. Of course, if your kids are grown up or you’re a college student (without kids) there’s good stuff in here for you, too.

If you’ve been looking for something to get you on the road to a less stressful more fulfilled life, I don’t think you can go wrong with this book. If the $15 price tag is too steep, I’m pretty sure you can borrow it from your local public library. It’s certainly worth a trip to the library if not the fifteen bucks!

Cheers,
Laura

