Statement of Intent – MFA in Writing

I wrote this!

I wrote this!

I intend to write. I often intend to write something creative, but so often I end up writing grocery lists and e-mails and reports for work. When I sit down to write something creative I often come away with little or nothing to show for it. There are some exceptions. I spent the first few years of the new century working on a thesis for a master’s degree in History. I intended to write that and I did. It was of my own creation, but I don’t know that it was exactly ‘creative’. My intent in applying to the MFA in Writing is to learn the discipline of writing.
I intend to finish. I always intend to finish what I start writing, and sometimes I do. The aforementioned thesis is a case in point. However, most of what I’ve finished are grocery lists, e-mails and reports for work. My intent in applying to the MFA in Writing is to have the time and motivation to finish my writing.
I intend to write a novel. I have been intending to write a novel since I was thirteen. The novel was a thirteen year old’s fantasy about moving to Montreal to be a rock star. Not surprisingly (see above), I didn’t finish writing that book. In keeping with the pattern I will mention, once again, that I have written a thesis. It is ninety-eight pages of brilliance that came all from my own head. However, to reiterate, it is not a novel. My intent in applying to the MFA in Writing is to learn the craft of novel writing.
I intend to write my novel. I have this mystery novel started. It’s about a fellow named Archie who was found dead in his Lincoln Zephyr at the bottom of a ravine along the South Saskatchewan River in 1939. The case soon went cold and in 2005 an intrepid forensic historian from the University of Saskatchewan was asked to review new evidence and interview old witnesses. My intent in applying to the MFA in writing is to learn the craft of writing crime fiction.
I intend to do all these things. And, I’ve tried to do them on my own. My intent in applying to the MFA in Writing is to find a group of classmates, colleagues, mentors and professors who will support me, push me and hold me accountable for my writing. Finding a community of support and practice will go a long way in helping me turn my intentions into stories.

Cheers,

Laura

