NaNoWriMo – Day 11

I meant to do some writing today.  But then I typed up the stuff I wrote yesterday.  And, I read the stuff I wrote yesterday.  And, I thought, “Gee, that sounds like that crap, I’d better check to see if that’s true.”  So, down the internet rabbit hole of research doom I went!  Now, I know quite a lot about bootleggers and crime families in the United States in the early part of the twentieth century.  I know that the American interstate highway system wasn’t in place until the 1950s.  I know that Saskatoon had a place called the Blue Bird Groceteria on Broadway Avenue around 1935.

Heritage - Red Robin Cafe

Inside the Red Robin Cafe

There was also a Red Robin Fruit and Cafe on the street at about the same time.

Heritage - Davis Dairy

Dairy on Broadway

The milkmen picked up their deliveries at a building that now houses a bead store, a head shop, a trendy clothing boutique and a hair salon.

Heritage - Garrison House

Bulk Cheese Warehouse - but I'm putting my drugstore in here

What I don’t know is what is happening next in my story.  The plan for today had been to type up what I’d written yesterday, write a Remembrance Day blog post, maybe watch some TV and write the novel. Well, I’ve done most of that except write the novel.  Of course, the day isn’t over yet!  I could still write something.  In fact, I really should write something, it will make me feel better.  Alright, I’ll finish typing my writing from yesterday and get to writing.  … right after an episode of NCIS … I promise!

Cheers,
Laura
