NaNoWriMo 2011 – Day 9

Werewolf

What was I supposed to do?

Oh crap! A clan of werewolves took over my brain this morning!  I let the dog out just after 5:00 and when I crawled back into bed I found a young woman turning into a werewolf in the bathroom at her school.  What was I supposed to do?  I had to help her out.  So, I got up, put on the coffee and started writing a werewolf story.  There are no werewolves attacking my cold case detective story – that would be silly.  I’m not entirely certain where this werewolf came from.  I hope that getting most of the story on paper this morning will appease her and I’ll be able to get back to the mystery this afternoon or evening.

I kind of like her and her clan of werewolves, actually.  It’s just that finding her this morning was a surprise.  I’ve been so focussed on my story about Archie and Lil, Parker and Dave that I didn’t think my mind had room for anyone else.  Then by 6:30 this morning a whole clan of werewolves had taken up residence there.  Of course, the other problem is that werewolves are rather cliche.  Isn’t every other young adult novel about werewolves or vampires or witches or zombies or some such thing these days?  My brother jokes about the growing ‘Teen Paranormal Romance’ section in the bookstores recently.  It does seem rather popular.  And, I’ve always been that girl who rejected ‘popular’ out of hand.

Though it doesn’t really surprise me that I have a clan of werewolves inside me.  Of all the monsters that fascinate and entice people I’ve always had a soft spot for lycanthropes.  I’m not sure why that is. I’m going to order a copy of “On Monsters: An Unnatural History of Our Worst Fears” by Stephen T. Asma to learn more about this fascination with werewolves.

I don’t know if this is procrastination or just the plight of the writer – having new characters bombard you when you least expect it.  I will, however, likely keep working at the werewolf angle, but I definitely have to get back to poor dead Archie as soon as possible!

Cheers,

Laura

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2011 – Day 9

  1. I’ve had this happen to me many of times. Not necessarily about werewolves, but with random new story ideas popping up and forcing me to write a chunk of them when I am trying to concentrate on another story. Either way best to write it down, even if it does temporarily interrupt you other writing, since without doing so you may very well lose the idea completely and never get it back. Good luck with both stories.

Comments are closed.