NaNoWriMo 2011 – Day 8

Yesterday I complained bitterly about Erin Morgenstern’s not-peppy-enough-pep-talk.  What I didn’t get around to praising was this blog post, “Into the Nanowrimo Woods We Go”,  I read yesterday from Write Anything by Rus VanWestervelt.  While I wouldn’t call it a pep talk, I certainly appreciated these words of wisdom more:

Yep. There’s a whole lotta darkness up ahead. Plots with no resolution in sight. Characters with unresolved conflicts for another 30,000 words. Settings that have been described every which way and now stare back at you like some tired lunch plate, picked over with nothing new to really savor.

How in the world am I going to get through this?

With a nice analogy to hiking, which I could appreciate, he laid out some good advice for getting through the rest of the month:

Get A Flashlight. – because there are plenty of little nooks and crannies that can be illuminated, just by writing off on a tangent.

Make A Map. – because its important to figure out where your story is going.

Pack A Snack. – because a mind is terrible thing to waste on pots of coffee and bags of Oreos, eat an apple and drink some water!

So, as long as I keep writing there’s no reason why I can’t keep making notes about new plots and writing character sketches and checking out when the Birks store first opened in Saskatoon.  I will keep plugging on!

PS – I’ve added a few new bits to the ‘Novel’ section.  Let me know what you think!

Cheers,
Laura

