NaNoWriMo 2011 – Day 7

Cheerleader

Go! Go! Rah! Rah! (Shut Up!)

Today I got a NaNoMail Pep Talk from Erin Morgenstern.  I thought, ‘Oo, cool.  I’ve heard of her she just had her first novel The Night Circus published.  And, she started this as a NaNoWriMo work.  This should be good.’  Unfortunately, I found it a little disappointing.  I know that she was trying to be encouraging, otherwise it probably would not have been called a ‘pep talk.’  I have just finished my 5107th word for this thing.  Ms. Morgenstern tried to encourage me by saying things like, “You uncover different things at the 30K mark than you do at 10K,” and, “Things that felt like desperate, random nonsense on page 72 (the abandoned broken pocket watch, a partially obscured tattoo, that taxidermied marmot on the mantelpiece) are suddenly important and meaningful on page 187.”  Well, crap!  I’ve barely hit 5K let alone 30K!  Page 72?  What the hell is that?!

Though, to be fair.  I haven’t really been trying to hit 30,000 words, nor even 10,000.  I’ve been trying to write my story.  As I have said in several other blogs – both to make me feel better and to convince you that I am, indeed, participating in this NaNoWriMo thing – this is about writing my book, my story, my novel, not just cranking out 50,000 random words.  Though, apparently if you add ninjas to a flagging scene that will make it better, but I don’t think you can just write ‘ninjas’ 50,000 times and call it a novel.  And, I am beginning to get the feeling that NaNoWriMo isn’t actually for people who want to write an actual book.  It seems to be more like an exercise in stream of consciousness writing for 30 days.  Which, as I might have said once or twice before, isn’t really my style.  Though, perhaps it would get my creative juices flowing.  No matter!  I have a story with three plots that need my attention!  I will get it finished even if I have to do it over several months in 300-word chunks!

Cheers,

Laura

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2011 – Day 7

  1. I totally get what you mean! There is so much pressure to write, write, write, but sometimes you want to slow down to plan, and work on research and quality. I’m doing NaNo, but instead of fiction I am focusing on filling an entire leather journal with poetry by the end of the month. I want a book length collection, and I am pushing ahead as fast as I can.

    I admire the tenacity of the people who write the whole novel in one month, but it seems to me that writing under that pressure might kill the fun. Then again, maybe it helps by reinforcing good writing habits…

    • Good luck with your poetry. I am a little jealous of poets who can create magical tiny worlds in just a few lines. I hope to get a nice chunk of a novel done by the end of the month, but I’m pretty sure I won’t finish! Thanks for commenting!

Comments are closed.