NaNoWriMo 2011 – Day 6

Busted!

I am a big cheater!

Who has two thumbs and is a big cheater?  This chick!  I have not been writing my actual novel.  However, I would like to point out that I have been writing for my novel.  I’m digging into all the whys, whats and whos of this story.  Remember yesterday, when I told you I was a Planner and a Procastinator and a Perfectionist?  All appear to be rearing ugly heads at the moment.  At Starbucks today a friend asked what my word count was?  Um … 3500.  She told me that the first time she did NaNoWriMo she wrote a story that she wanted to write and had similar problems.  The next couple of times she just had the goal of putting one sentence on paper, then another and another.  Which seemed to work better for NaNoWriMo.  And, that I had plenty of time to catch up.  Which I will have to do.  My brother is doing NaNoWriMo too. You can check out his blog and novel excerpts at http://craigmcn.tumblr.com/.  (and, as a special treat see a picture of our first snowfall today!) So, he and I were chatting about this today as well.  I really chose NaNoWriMo as an excuse to get started on this story that has been in my head for months.  The fact that I have 3500 words of this novel written and not 0 words is progress.  The fact that I have been disciplined enough to work on the novel every day even if just for 30 minutes is success. The fact that this morning I discovered what is in the shoe box is terrific progress!  The fact that I continue to enjoy the process and am having a great deal of fun – admittedly that involved research and online archives – makes for success in my book!  So, am I doing NaNoWriMo properly? No.  Am I having fun writing and doing research for my book? Yes!  And, that’s all that counts!

