NaNoWriMo 2011 – Day 2

My Cute Doggie

Who will take this cutie for his walk?!

Okay, only 890 words today, but I’m tired.  I went to bed too late then tried to get up at 5:00 and now I’m tired again!  I must figure out a better schedule.  Because I also have to walk the dog (poor poochy).  I probably don’t need to watch an hour and a half  of TV each evening.  I will get the hang of this!

The cool thing is that I’ve actually written 14 pages and I know it hasn’t really begun.  I tend to be a really concise writer so I was afraid I’d tell the whole story in 10 pages and have to make up a lot of crap for the rest of the month.  Fourteen pages and I haven’t even reached the beginning of the real story.  Also, I’m learning all kinds of stuff about my protagonist.  I had a basic biography prepared, but now I find out that her Ph.D is from Columbia not the U of T as I had first imagined.  She likes to play internet poker, which I’ve never done in my life. And, she’s an historian of American history not Canadian as I had intended.  Apparently, she lives with an enormous dog who is a bit of a wuss.  She doesn’t really cook, but knows the pastry chef at the hippest restaurant in town.  And, she’s in a relationship with the Detective Sergeant for whom she consults.  I don’t know if this is an affair or if he’s single.  I guess I’ll find out later!

This is a very interesting process.  I look forward to getting this finished even if it is in December instead of November.  Don’t forget to check for excerpts by going to the ‘Novel’ part of this site.

Cheers,

Laura

