The Tasty, Sad, Sweet Endings of Things

College Building in Autumn

The wonderful Schmutzie asked us to document the tasty, sad, sweet endings of things.  Her video post made me think of these words by T.S. Eliot:

What we call the beginning is often the end. And, to make an end is to make a beginning.  The end is where we start from.

These words make up part of Reading #685 in the Unitarian Universalist hymnal, Singing the Living Tradition.  I have read them many times.  I have read them aloud and I have heard them spoken.  They work my brain in new ways every time I encounter them.  Often these words are used in ‘wheel of the year’ services.  When the wheel turns and winter becomes spring, when summer turns to autumn, we remind ourselves that the end of one thing becomes the beginning of another.  While one might mourn the loss of summer – its warmth, leisure and freedom – its loss ushers in the autumn.  With autumn comes industry, cozy evenings at home and harvest of projects and ideas sown in spring.  I’m not sure how ready I am to believe that even death is a beginning.  It seems pretty final.  However, I do believe that ‘to make an end is to make a beginning.’  When I reach the end of a project or a phase in my life there always seems to be the beginning of another project or phase waiting for me.

Cheers,

Laura

2 thoughts on “The Tasty, Sad, Sweet Endings of Things

Comments are closed.