Lists of Me

This great little online workshop I’m taking – Emerge – has given me some good and weird stuff to do.  One task was to write three  ‘Lists of Me’ – my obsessions and preoccupations, what I know and what I don’t know.  It was a fun assignment.  I learned a little bit about myself – particularly that left on its own my mind will wander down very strange lanes!  So, here you go:

My Obsessions & Preoccupations

  • Hawai’i
  • Las Vegas
  • Cary Grant
  • SparkPeople.com
  • the 1940s
  • the 1930s
  • exercising
  • writing
  • bums (not vagrants but actual behinds)
  • burlesque
  • Charmed
  • Farmville
  • Facebook
  • my new Blackberry
  • knees
  • my dog
  • sewing
  • knitting
  • organizing
  • crime fiction

What I Know

  • the lyrics to the opening theme of Gilligan’s Island
  • how to floss my teeth
  • that I love my kid
  • this it is not rational to believe that every stranger is a serial killer
  • how to knit
  • how to use my sewing machine (basically)
  • how to artfully remove clothing in public
  • I am intelligent
  • I am powerful
  • I find most men attractive
  • Las Vegas must be the most ridiculous city on earth
  • how to write a book
  • to cook
  • to read
  • to do research
  • to drive a manual transmission
  • to travel internationally
  • to speak French
  • to say ‘Thank You’ in French, Inuktitut, German, Dutch and Spanish
  • to make an appointment
  • to use Audacity
  • to sing (solo, in public)
  • to manage a project
  • to chair a meeting
  • to craft a worship service/ritual
  • to bake (bread, cookies, cake)
  • to say ‘no’
  • to give myself a pedicure and manicure
  • that my family is awesome and crazy and weird

What I Don’t Know

  • could fill several books and possibly most of the internet
  • to ride a motorcycle
  • to tattoo or pierce
  • to use a firehose
  • to fly a plane
  • to drive a bus
  • grow vegetables
  • paint a picture
  • play trombone, piano, guitar, sousaphone …
  • to deal with conflict well
  • to make small talk convincingly
  • to develop film
  • to write computer code
  • climb a tree
  • play football, cricket, field hockey, water polo …
  • to skate
  • to sew clothes (really well)
  • run long distances
  • stitch a wound
  • not get seasick
  • how to dress like the cool kids
  • play blackjack, poker, bridge …
  • to inject someone with a needle
  • prestidigitation or sleight of hand
  • eat escargot without getting an upset stomach
  • eat soup with a fork
  • build a house
  • grow a garden
  • repair a machine
  • hunt
  • cut hair
  • be patient

So there!  I’m actually thinking of learning how to ride a motorcycle simply because it came to my mind as something I don’t know how to do.  I think I’ll stay away from escargot, though!

Cheers,

Laura

